5 Elements Of An INTJ Door Slam

Dr Joel Yong, PhD
5 min readApr 3, 2020

Have you been on the giving or receiving end of one?

Photo by Dima Pechurin on Unsplash

As I look back at 30+ years of life, I wonder how I managed to get through it without as much emotional conflict or issues as I saw my friends facing. People were people. If they got too much on my nerves, they’d get cut out of my life very quickly. I was blunt and I didn’t suffer fools. Oh, the folly of youth. I had no idea that it was an INTJ thing (and to some extent, INFJs do that too).

I just thought it was pretty normal, though my friends actually did wonder how I bounced back from emotionally crushing catastrophes with nary a scratch. I wondered how, too.

In fact, I just pulled off a door slam last year.

It was a deep friendship with a lady over a period of 6 years that I thought (at the start of last year) could go further. I agonised and thought and agonised and thought about how I would talk to her about it. I tried to second guess what she would say. I tried to think of all possible outcomes that could happen, both positive and negative.

… And then I told her.

It opened up a can of worms beyond what I anticipated/expected. She made some nasty remarks and emotionally cutting statements, ending off with a “You’ll need some time to get over this. Before you get over this, though, you won’t be hearing…

--

--

Dr Joel Yong, PhD

Crafting strategies for optimising the biochemical pathways in the human body. Learn more at https://thethinkingscientist.substack.com.